Follow the Light Foundation

On October 10th, 2005, the surfing community lost one of its most influential figures. After a nearly three year battle with severe brain cancer Larry “Flame” Moore, the Photo Editor of SURFING Magazine for 30 years, passed. He left behind a legacy of brilliant photography and an army of photographers trained by him. Through his work at SURFING Magazine, Larry literally gave three decades of surfing their “look.”

Today, honoring Larry’s request, we have established the Follow the Light Foundation (FTLF), an organization that will help finance the dreams of surf photographers, pushing the sport and its lensmen forward.

Each spring, the board of FTLF will announce the amount of money available, make a call for entries, and make an application and application guidelines available. Applications will be due a few months later, and will be reviewed by an advisory panel. Recipients will be announced at the FTLF Awards Ceremony held annually at the Shorebreak Hotel in Huntington Beach during the week of the Vans US Open of Surfing.

Larry Moore

Larry "Flame" Moore

Sponsored by:

  • Swell
  • Vans
  • Hurley
  • Surfing
  • Oakley

Latest Happenings

  • A Night to Remember – FTL 2014 Ceremony

    The Follow the Light 2014 Awards Ceremony was a memorable occasion without a doubt. Don’t worry if you missed out, you can see the goodies here. View the photo slideshow

    Or, check out the Past Recipients Update Video Here.

  • Trevor Moran’s Year Abroad

    Trevor Moran speaks on his travels and accomplishments since winning the Grant in 2013, watch the video here.

  • Ryan Craig Wins 2014 Follow The Light!

    See the article here.